YouTube made me cry

When I think of YouTube, I think of people falling down. Whether they’re tumbling from a trampoline or off a roof, the popular video site is synonymous with painfully humiliating falls in my mind.

I can only assume it’s the same for others. Everyone I know seems to use the site exclusively to watch the human carnage that results from battling gravity.

We don’t credit YouTube as the pinnacle of video sharing between users from around the world. We think of it as a place to waste a few minutes of our lives away.

But every now and then, when the moon is in the seventh hour and Jupiter is aligned with Mars, a video comes along to remind us how lucky we are to live in the age of YouTube. These clips allow us to share the beauty of humanity. They spread inspiration and emotional vulnerability like a virus. But a good virus that makes us smile instead of puke.

Such was the case with Susan Boyle, a rather plain looking Scottish woman who shocked and surprised her detractors with the voice of an angel.

As The Vancouver Sun explains, Boyle took the stage of “Britain’s Got Talent” to jeering and laughter as she explained that she was a 47-year-old virgin with dreams of being a singer.

Her performance ended with a standing ovation. And me bawling like a baby.

Feel free to check out the clip here.

According to CNET News, Boyle’s video has become a YouTube sensation spreading joy to people the world over.

What does this all mean, you ask? What’s the point?

Well, the point is I was emotionally moved by a short clip from a foreign broadcast I would never have seen had it not been for YouTube. A site best known for publishing videos with the intellectual sophistication of a fart joke made me cry.

I don’t know about you, but that makes me proud to live in the digital age. Most of all, it makes me appreciate the wonders of the Web.

See you in cyberspace, and God bless America.

Published in: on April 15, 2009 at 2:28 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://eswendt.wordpress.com/2009/04/15/youtube-made-me-cry/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

