The last American (Myspace) virgin

That headline may be a little misleading. I’m by no means a virgin to social networking sites.

But there was a time, in the not so distant past, when I found myself abstaining like a nun at a swinger’s party.

I belittled people who had a Myspace and chastised  those who checked it constantly. What’s the point, I would ask myself.  We already have telephones and texting. We already have email. We already have regular mail, for that matter.

And for individuals feeling a little nostalgic, there’s also good, old fashioned face to face contact.

So why was creating an online account necessary to interact with people? It seemed more like a vanity project designed to show people how unique you were while doing the exact same things they were doing.

I know I wasn’t the only one who felt that way. According to ABC News, there are still plenty of people resisting the temptation of social networking.

But then, one dark and stormy night, I decided to give it a shot. I booted up my trusty computer and began the descent into what would become a shame spiral of Myspace addiction.

After seeing Tom’s smiling face welcome me to the club, I found myself feeling the tingle a heroin addict must experience after the first shot. I was hooked. I wanted to customize. I wanted to be clever. I wanted  colors to match and pictures to compliment. I wanted my top eight to be pruned and tended like a rose garden.

I found myself checking my profile as often as a junkie checking for a fix.

And if you think my addiction is exaggerated, check out this blog from the Seattle Post-Intelligencer. The danger is real.

But there is light at the end of the tunnel. I am now Myspace free and have been Myspace sober for over two years.

Just remember, the first step is admitting you have a problem.

Published in: on April 8, 2009 at 12:11 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://eswendt.wordpress.com/2009/04/08/the-last-american-myspace-virgin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

